April Favorites: Hair Care Edition

Hi everybody! I want to share with you my favorite hair products for the month of April.

I’ve decided to take better care of my hair because I relax my hair regularly, and my hair is dry and I have dandruff. I never took real god care of my hair because I assumed that my hair stylist will take care of my needs. Furthermore, I learned more about the harmful ingredients that are in many salon products that are doing more harm than good to my hair. So I’ve decided to buy my own hair products to use when I go to the salon. I’ve brought these products based on watching reviews about them on YouTube.

image

Here are the products I’ve been using in the picture from left to right:

1. Sunny Isle Jamaican Black Castor Oil:

I’ve started using this back on the fall of last year to moisrurizes my hair. It is a thick, heavy, dark brown oil that is great for moisturizing my hair in the cold months. It leaves my hair super shiny. I used it primarily as a weekly styler, but this can be great for a hot oil treatment. Only downside is that it has a strong nutty smell that can linger in your hair. Therefore, I would only use that in my hair on the weekends when I’m usually at home relaxing.

2. SheaMoisture African Black Soap Deep Cleansing Shampoo:

The shampoo is a brown color with a slight thin consistency. I was immediately impressed on clean my scalp felt when I used this shampoo for the first time. It did a great job removing any product build-up, and I love the shampoo’s scent! After continuous use, I’ve noticed an improvement on my dandruff. Overall, I will continue this shampoo.

3. SheaMoisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen, Grow & Restore Treatment Masque:

This is my favorite deep conditioning mask. It is a thick pudding like consistency with a vanilla scent that I like. Others say it smells like Play-Doh, but to each their own. After rinsing the mask out, it leaves your hair soft and detangles it. Over time, my hair feels stronger, more manageable, and it helped my hair grow quicker.

4. SheaMoisture 100% Extra Virgin Coconut Oil Head-to-Toe Nourishing and Hydration:

Coconut oil is a lightweight oil that can change state depending on temperature (when hot, it is an oil. When cold, it hardens). I use this coconut oil as a weekly hair dresser in my hair and scalp. I use this more so when I am going outside since it has a better scent then the Jamaican Black Castor Oil. It does a wonderful job moisturizing my hair and scalp, and it leaves my hair soft and super shiny. I also use this as a pre-poo by putting it in my hair and letting it set for at least a half hour to an hour before washing my hair. After shampooing and conditioning, it leaves my hair really soft and manageable. Coconut oil is really good for controlling frizz, relieving dry hair and scalp, and provides protection under harsh weather.

5. SheaMoisture Coconut & Hibiscus Hair Mist:

This hair mist has a water consistency, lightweight and has a wonderful scent. I use this as a styler to give a sleek pontytail or bun. It fairly holds my edges down for some time, gives great shine to my hair, and controls frizz.

I hope you enjoyed reading this post. Please like and share your favorite hair products! Take care!

Leave a Reply

