audio COVER FX Custom Blot Drops Review

Hello all! Today I am going to give a review on a newly released product from COVER FX called the Custom Blot Drops.

p408512-av-01-hero

Price: $42.00 at Sephora

What is Supposed to Do?  This is designed to reduce shine, excess oil, and pores to create a matte finish on your face. This can be used alone, under or over makeup. It can also be mixed with any products suck as primer, moisturizer, foundation, serum to give your face an instant matte finish and control oil and shine. The product claims to balance skin for those who have oily, combination, or acne-prone skin (in my case, all of the above!). The formula creates a silky-soft texture and, once applied, diffuses light to help blur the appearance of pores, fine lines, and other imperfections.

Key Ingredients:

Salicylic Acid supports clear pores

Cucumber Extract and Papaya Fruit help hydrate skin to keep it from feeling tight

Chamomile Extract soothes and tones.

*COVER FX products are free of parabens, mineral oil, gluten, talc, formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin, toluene, DBP (dibutyl phthlate), and camphor.*

First Impressions:

First, the packaging looks nice with the dropper locking and unlocking when you are opening and closing the bottle. I shook the bottle, and then the product looks like a whitish, clear gel with a serum and primer-like consistency. I did have a hard time to pump the product onto my hand with the dropper  because the product was pretty thick, but feels light on my fingertips.

I applied this product over my makeup with a tapping motion. It took almost two minutes to settle, but it did create a matte finish after my face was looking oily with my foundation on. Best thing was that only little foundation got onto my fingers and it did not ruin my foundation at all. I felt the cooling sensation while applying it to my face. After that, I was instantly sold on this product! 

PROS:

  • Natural ingredients
  • Mixes well with many different makeup snd skin care products
  • Provides a matte finish after applying to your face
  • Feels lightweight on the skin

CONS:

  • Pricey
  • Difficult it shake the pr
  • Does not reduce the appearance of pores
  • Controls oil for 1-2 hours before reapplying
  • Dropper is a bit ineffective to pump and dispense the thick product onto your hands

Final Thoughts:

Overall, I like the idea behind this product, but it did not fully live up to its claims. For the price of $42, you’re better off using another product to help with oil control and shrinking large pores. It controls oil for less than 2 hours when used alone and mixed with another product. COVER FX is a great brand for those who are conscious about what ingredients that are in your products, although they’re expensive.

For more information, please click here.

Thank you reading! If you have recommendations of products I should try to help woth oil control and or shrink large pores, please let me know in the comments below. Take care!

Leave a Reply

